*
The chic dinner party

Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2003-12:52 am

Saturday night was the night of the "chic dinner party". I have not gone out on any real "dates" since I got divorced, but I accepted this invitation with a man I had met through my office, to be the eighth person in a dinner party group. It would be fun to get out of the house and eat somewhere that does not have crayons on the table.

The party was in an East coast town of flawless lawns that were sheared to the texture of velvet, with patrician fruit trees, and houses so stately that they could convince the owners that they really were descendents of Brittish royalty.

I have seen my share of opulenceso I took it in stride. He would not have to worry that I might see the grandeur in the neighborhood and become overly exhuberant, and humiliate him with a high pitched excessively delighted utterance of "fancy-schmancy".( like I was Ellie Mae Clampett).

D.B. need not worry that I would show up in a tight t-shirt with the sequined number "69" on the chest, get unfashionably drunk, ask the host if my thighs look fat in this outfit, ask for ketchup for the medallions of veal, or start a conga line. (no, we will leave that role to Marcy from the office.)

~~~~~~~~~~~

I was to be introduced to the monthly gourmet group that my friend collaborates . I have never been one to feel intimidated or worry about what to talk about with new people.

He had apparently not brought anyone to a dinner party in years, so I was a curiosity. )

I am a " dinner-party ready" person. Just furnish me with a glass of wine, point me towards the group, and I am ready to work the room be dazzling.

It was a piece of cake! I opted to get lost in the kitchen, helping with the cooking, and serving so I didn't have to say too much.

It was a fun night.

It was a collective effort , a 7 course meal, with a new wine served for each course. I declined a lot of the liquor, even though I had carpooled and did not need to drive. I would not want them to assume I was an alcoholic and give my new friends more to gossip about.

go to the prior entry * +
*
most recent * LIST OF ALL ENTRIES * about msboston * contact me * comments * web host *