*
The gift of my children

Monday, Jun. 23, 2003-4:26 am
Aw-w-w-... I gave my children life when I brought them into the world, but they have given me life as well. A life so rich and gratifying , that it is frightening to imagine what I would have missed had I never had children. Motherhood gives me the gift of patience compassion and unselfish giving that can only come from the love of a child.

My beautiful 4 year old boy had decided to make himself a glass of chocolate milk. He apparently wanted to "suprise " me with this .

I was in another room with my daughter, fighting a losing battle with trying to get her to pick up and sort her toys, in the hopes of making a clear walkable passage through the family room.

I heard a loud "Oh-Oh!" from my son. He was hiding under the table, and on the floor was a half gallon of milk, spilled all over and seeping under the dishwasher.

A few exasperated choice words were uttered. I counted to 10 . The process of copious amounts of paper towels, slid under the dishwasher, on at a time, and then relapaced, was slowly picking up the liquid mess.

After a while, it was cleaned up, and I regained my composure. I smiled at my son , told him I was sorry that I yelled and reminded him not to try to get the milk out anymore until he is a bigger boy.

He said

"Mommy , do you still love me? "

I said

"oh yes sweetheart, I love you very much".

He said

" Will you still love me if I spilled 100 milks all over the house?"

I said

" I would not be happy, and I would make you help clean it, but I would still love you, no matter what."

he said

"Can I have a big hug?"

We hugged.

he said

"I love you .

Oh, and Mommy??? Now that we are all happy again, do you mind if I still have that glass of chocolate milk? This time you make it, OK?

go to the prior entry * +
*
most recent * LIST OF ALL ENTRIES * about msboston * contact me * comments * web host *