*
The Gloves

Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003-2:38 am
This is a story , paraphrased, taken from a Paul Harvey broadcast I once heard:

A young man wanted to purchase a gift for a girl he had recently started dating. They had not been seeing each other for very long, so after careful consideration, he decided that a pair of gloves would be nice. Not too romantic and not too personal.

Accompanied by her younger sister, he went to a department store to shop for a nice pair of leather gloves. The sister picked out a pair of thong panties for herself while he was busy looking at gloves. They purchased both items at the same time.

During the wrapping the clerk mixed up the two items and the sister got the bag with the gloves and the man got the bag with the panties. Without checking the contents, the man sealed the package and sent it to his girlfriend with the following note:

Dear Maria, I chose these because it appears to me that you are not in the habit of wearing any when we go out in the evening. You shouldn't be exposed to the cold air , but I guess that is what my hands are for! If it had not been for your sister helping me shop, I probably would have chosen a size larger, in a longer style, in leather. She said that she always wears short ones that are very snug and stretch to fit. She showed me how much easier they are to remove. Your sister also showed me the latest style, which is to turn them down a little in the front and show a bit of that fur on the inside.

You will model them for me like that on Friday night before we go out. I know you'll look great. These are a light color, and may be harder to keep clean, but if you take them off before you open your car door, or pump gas , or pick up coins, they should hold up well. The lady I bought them from showed me the pair that she had been wearing for a while , in white, and they were hardly soiled at all.

I had her try yours on for me and they looked really good on her, even though they were a little too tight. She is not as petite as you are. She told me that they help to keep her from getting chapped skin in the winter. Wearing a pair of these also keeps the rings that she wears clean and shiny. Who knows, maybe one day the gift I will be getting you will be a ring to wear under this year's gift. Tonight I will be imagining you wearing these . The next time I see you it will be my hands that are covering your skin and making you warm, but until then , you will be wearing these. It can't be soon enough for me! I wish I were there to put them on you the first time. No doubt, many other hands will touch them before I see you again. When you take them off remember to blow into them and let them dry out before putting them away , especially if you have been active, or if you have been wearing them for a long time. They will naturally be a little damp when you remove them. Love, Paul

go to the prior entry * +
*
most recent * LIST OF ALL ENTRIES * about msboston * contact me * comments * web host *